Acute Necrotizing Encephalopathy International

Professor Alex Palazzo is co-organizing with Jomon Joseph (National Centre For Cell Science, Pune) a Workshop on RanBP2/Nup358 and Acute Necrotizing Encephalopathy, November 10th to 12th (9AM to 12:30PM, EST). The workshop is free and will be held over Zoom. If you would like to attend, please register (see the link below). If you, or your trainees, would like to present your work, we have reserved slots for additional talks and flash talks (info is in the registration page). A Zoom link will be emailed to all registrants. Please forward this email to your trainees or anyone who would be interested in attending the workshop.

RanBP2 Nup388 ANE1 Meeting Updated Schedule
Registration Page (Google Form)

Information on Acute Necrotizing Encephalopathy:

Four separate missense mutations in the N-terminal domain of RanBP2/Nup358 cause acute necrotizing encephalopathy 1 (ANE1). In response to influenza infection, these patients experience a massive secretion of cytokines, known as a “cytokine storm”, which causes seizures, neuropathology, coma and a high rate of mortality. Although ANE-associated mutations in RanBP2 are dominant, they are only ~40% penetrant, suggesting that other genetic factors contribute to this disease. The link between RanBP2, viral infection, and ANE1 remains unclear. In addition, there is some indication that a small subset of COVID-19 patients develop an ANE-like condition. The goal of this workshop is to bring together clinicians and basic researchers to exchange findings and encourage new collaborations.

Confirmed Speakers:
·         Nathalie Arhel (Université de Montpellier)
·         Martin Beck (Max Plank Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt am Main)
·         Russell Dale (University of Sydney)
·         Mary Dasso (NIH)
·         Paulo Ferreira (Duke University)
·         Beatriz Fontoura (UT Southwestern)
·         André Hoelz (Cal Tech)
·         Ming Lim (Evelina London Children’s Hospital)
·         Michael Matunis (John Hopkins University)
·         Derek Neilson (Phoenix Children’s Hospital)
·         Nelly Panté (University of British Columbia)
·         Kiran Thakur (Columbia University)
·         Qingtang Shen (Fujian Medical University)
·         Richard Wozniak (University of Alberta)

If you have any further questions, please send an email to