Phagocytosis of yeast (magenta) by a macrophage, together with actin staining (green).

Phagocytosis of yeast (magenta) by a macrophage, together with actin staining (green). Image courtesy of Sergio Grinstein.

Signal transduction pathways regulate diverse processes in cell division, development, and differentiation. These pathways often involve cascades of protein kinases and their activation typically results in changes in gene expression and cellular activity.

Signal transduction research in the Department spans many fields: cell cycle regulation, morphogen signaling, pathogen-associated molecular patterns, signaling in the central nervous system, regulation of glucose and ion transport, signalling in blood platelets, and structural aspects of signaling molecules.

Our researchers make use of a number of model systems to relate the biochemical properties of signaling pathways to cellular function, including bacteria, yeast, mammalian cells and mouse models.

 

 

Faculty in the Department conducting research in this area:

Angers Lab

Molecular mechanisms underlying intracellular signalling activated by the Wnt and Hedgehog families of secreted growth factors

Angers Lab

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
144 College Street, Room 901
Toronto, ON

Dr. Stephane Angers


416-978-4939   stephane.angers@utoronto.ca

Attisano Lab

Morphogen signalling pathways and the regulation of complex biological responses

Attisano Lab

160 College Street, room 1008

Dr. Liliana Attisano


416-946-3129   liliana.attisano@utoronto.ca

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

DNA Replication, DNA Damage and Genome Instability

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

Donnelly Centre, Room 1206
160 College Street

Dr. Grant W. Brown


416-946-5733   grant.brown@utoronto.ca

Ernst Lab

Transmembrane Signaling by GPCRs

Ernst Lab

MSB, Room 5259
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Oliver P. Ernst


416-978-3849   oliver.ernst@utoronto.ca

Skeletal muscle regenerative medicine

Gilbert Laboratory

Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
160 College Street, Rm. # 510

Dr. Penney Gilbert


416-978-2501   penney.gilbert@utoronto.ca

Grinstein Lab

Membrane Biology, Ion Transport, and the Innate Immune Response

Grinstein Lab

555 University Ave.

Dr. Sergio Grinstein


416-813-5727   sergio.grinstein@sickkids.ca

Kapus Lab

The cytoskeleton as a cell fate-determining device

Kapus Lab

Keenan Centre for Biomedical Research
209 Victoria Street, Room 621

Dr. Andras Kapus


416-847-1751   KapusA@smh.ca

Amira Klip Lab

Cellular and biochemical basis of insulin action and insulin resistance: focus on glucose transport

Amira Klip Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street Room 19.9-709

Dr. Amira Klip


416-813-6392   amira@sickkids.ca

Lemaire Lab

Cell Biology Department
Peter Gilgan Centre For Research and Learning
SickKids Research Institute
686 Bay Street, room 19.9704

Dr. Mathieu Lemaire


416-813-7654 ext. 309419   mathieu.lemaire@sickkids.ca

Ohh Lab

Molecular Mechanisms of Cancer

Ohh Lab

MaRS Centre, West Tower
661 University Avenue, Suite 1512

Dr. Michael Ohh


416-946-7922   michael.ohh@utoronto.ca

Rotin's lab

Biochemistry and function of the Nedd4 family of ubiquitin ligases

Rotin's lab

PGCRL, 19-9715,
686 Bay Street

Dr. Daniela Rotin


416-813-5098   drotin@sickkids.ca

Sunnybrook Research Institute
2075 Bayview Avenue, Room M7 617

Dr. Robert Screaton


416-480-6100 X 5743   robert.screaton@sri.utoronto.ca

Sicheri Lab

Structural Biology of Eukaryotic Signal Transduction

Sicheri Lab

Mount Sinai Hospital
600 University Avenue, Room 1090

Dr. Frank Sicheri


416 586-8471   sicheri@lunenfeld.ca

The Stagljar Lab

Interactome networks of integral membrane proteins and their roles in health & disease

The Stagljar Lab

Donnelly Centre
160 College Street

Dr. Igor Stagljar


1 416 946 7828   igor.stagljar@utoronto.ca

Trimble Lab

Membrane and Cytoskeleton Interaction

Trimble Lab

SickKids Research Institute
PGCRL Rm 199716
686 Bay Street

Dr. William S. Trimble


416-813-6889   wtrimble@sickkids.ca

Wilde Lab

Cell Division in Tumor Formation and Oogenesis

Wilde Lab

MSB Room 4377
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Andrew Wilde


416 946 7714   andrew.wilde@utoronto.ca