ATPase structure_sm

The V/A-ATPase from Thermus thermophilus is a rotary motor that couples transmembrane-proton translocation to the synthesis of ATP. This model was produced by imaging frozen-hydrated V/A-ATPase complexes with an electron microscope and computationally calculating the structure of the protein complex. Image: John Rubinstein.

The three-dimensional structures of biological molecules, their interactions and molecular motion provide the fundamental basis for understanding how they mediate their functions.

Techniques including NMR, X-ray crystallography and electron microscopy can give us structural snapshots, while we can gain insight into their biomolecular interactions through SPR (Surface Plasmon Resonance), ITC (Isothermal Titration Calorimetry), MST (Microscale Thermophoresis) and BLI (Biolayer Interferometry). Changes in molecular motion can be obtained using tools like NMR, EPR, mass spectrometry, CD and fluorescence spectroscopy, sedimentation analysis, and molecular dynamics computational simulations.

Using these tools we are studying structure-function relationships within key macromolecules. Included among these are protein and membrane-protein structures, protein-protein, protein-nucleic  acid and protein-ligand interactions, protein folding, stability and dynamics, and enzyme specificity and catalysis.

These macromolecules play important roles in many biological systems and in addition to providing insight into the principles upon which complex biological systems are based, our work has long-term applications in the biotechnology and health care sectors.

 

 

Faculty in the Department conducting research in this area:

Chakrabartty Lab

Protein Folding and Design

Chakrabartty Lab

MaRS Centre
Toronto Medical Discovery Tower
4th Floor Room 4-307
101 College St.

Dr. Avi Chakrabartty


416-581-7553   chakrab@uhnres.utoronto.ca

Chan Research Group

Theoretical and Computational Investigations of Protein Folding, Interactions, and Evolution

Chan Research Group

MSB 5363
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Hue Sun Chan


416-978-2697   chan@arrhenius.med.utoronto.ca

Davidson Lab

Bacteriophages

Davidson Lab

1 King's College Circle, Room 4285

Dr. Alan R. Davidson


416-978-0332   alan.davidson@utoronto.ca

Deber lab

Peptide and Protein Structure in Membranes: From Folding to Drug Discovery

Deber lab

Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children
Molecular Structure & Function
PGCRL, Room 20.9712
686 Bay Street

Dr. Charles M. Deber


416-813-5924   deber@sickkids.ca

Ernst Lab

Transmembrane Signaling by GPCRs

Ernst Lab

MSB, Room 5259
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Oliver P. Ernst


416-978-3849   oliver.ernst@utoronto.ca

Forman-Kay lab

Structural Studies of Disordered Proteins

Forman-Kay lab

Molecular Structure and Function
Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9713
686 Bay Street

Dr. Julie D. Forman-Kay


416-813-5358   forman@sickkids.ca

Protein Aggregation

Room 5302, Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. John R. Glover


416-200-5985   john.glover@utoronto.ca

Houry Lab

The Function of Molecular Chaperones and ATP-dependent Proteases in Protein Homeostasis

Houry Lab

1 King's College Circle
Medical Sciences Building, Room 5308

Dr. Walid A. Houry


416-946-7141   walid.houry@utoronto.ca

Howell Lab

Microbial Biofilm Formation: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapeutics

Howell Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9715
686 Bay Street

Dr. P. Lynne Howell


416-813-5378   howell@sickkids.ca

Julien laboratory

Targeting B cell receptors in vaccine and disease

Julien laboratory

Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL), Room 20-9703
686 Bay St.

Dr. Jean-Philippe Julien


416-813-7654, ext. 309424   jean-philippe.julien@sickkids.ca

Kay Laboratory

NMR of Supra-Molecular Machines; Characterizing Low Populated States of Proteins

Kay Laboratory

Medical Sciences Building, Room 1233
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Lewis E. Kay


416-978-0741   kay@pound.med.utoronto.ca

Sequence/Structure/Function Relationships Determining the Elastomeric Properties of Elastin

Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children
PGCRL
686 Bay Street

Dr. Fred W. Keeley


416-813-6704   fwk@sickkids.ca

Maxwell Lab

Bacteriophages and Human Health

Maxwell Lab

MaRS Centre, West Tower
661 University Ave., Suite 1600

Dr. Karen L. Maxwell


416-978-0872   karen.maxwell@utoronto.ca

Maynes Lab

Models for Cardiac and Neuronal Drug Toxicity and New Methods of Improving Cardiac Function

Maynes Lab

Department of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
Hospital for Sick Children
555 University Ave

Dr. Jason T. Maynes


416-813-5934   jason.maynes@sickkids.ca

Melnyk Lab

Bacterial Toxin Pathogenesis: Molecular Mechanisms & Drug Discovery

Melnyk Lab

Dr. Roman A. Melnyk


416-813-7654 ext. 328557   roman.melnyk@sickkids.ca

Mennella Lab

Discovery of supramolecular assemblies responsible for microcephaly and ciliopathies

Mennella Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 18.9709 Toronto, ON

Dr. Vito Mennella


(416)-813-7654 ext. 309267   vito.mennella@sickkids.ca

Moraes Lab

Membrane Protein Structural Biology

Moraes Lab

Rm 5366 Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Trevor F. Moraes


416-946-3048   trevor.moraes@utoronto.ca

Pai Lab

The structural determinants of protein function

Pai Lab

MSB, Room 5358
1 KIng's College Circle

Dr. Emil F. Pai


416-581-7545   pai@hera.med.utoronto.ca

Pomès Lab

Computational Studies of Biomolecular Structure and Function

Pomès Lab

PGCRL Room 21.9713
Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay St

Dr. Régis Pomès


416-813-5686   pomes@sickkids.ca

Privé Lab

Protein Structure and Function

Privé Lab

Room 4-302 PMCRT
101 College Street

Dr. Gil Privé


416-581-7541   prive@uhnres.utoronto.ca

Prosser Lab

Using NMR to Investigate Protein Structure and Dynamics

Prosser Lab

University of Toronto, Mississauga
South Building, Room

Dr. R. Scott Prosser


scott.prosser@utoronto.ca

Reithmeier Lab

Structure and Function of Membrane Proteins

Reithmeier Lab

Medical Sciences Building, Room 5368

Dr. Reinhart Reithmeier


416-978-7739   r.reithmeier@utoronto.ca

Mammalian Cell Membrane and Secreted Proteins/Glycoproteins

1 King's College Circle
Medical Sciences Bldg, Rm 5360
Toronto, Ontario, M5S 1A8
Canada

Dr. James M. Rini


416-978-0557   james.rini@utoronto.ca

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Electron Cryomicroscopy of Macromolecular Machines

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Rm. 20-9705
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street, Toronto

Dr. John L. Rubinstein


416-813-7255   john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

Sharpe Lab

Molecular-Level Study of Macromolecular Assemblies in Human Health and Disease

Sharpe Lab

Peter Gilgan Center for Research and Learning
686 Bay St., Room 20.9714

Dr. Simon Sharpe


416-813-7852   ssharpe@sickkids.ca

Sicheri Lab

Structural Biology of Eukaryotic Signal Transduction

Sicheri Lab

Mount Sinai Hospital
600 University Avenue, Room 1090

Dr. Frank Sicheri


416 586-8471   sicheri@lunenfeld.ca

Watts Lab

Protein Misfolding and Neurodegenerative Diseases

Watts Lab

Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases
Krembil Discovery Tower
60 Leonard Ave., Rm. 6KD412

Dr. Joel C. Watts


416-507-6891   joel.watts@utoronto.ca

Protein Folding & Quality Control within the Endoplasmic Reticulum

Medical Sciences Building, Room 5316

Dr. David B. Williams


416-978-2546   david.williams@utoronto.ca

Yip Lab

Fundamental Mechanisms of Molecular Self-Assembly

Yip Lab

404 - 160 College St

Dr. Christopher M. Yip


416-978-7853   christopher.yip@utoronto.ca

Zamble Lab

Metallobiochemistry

Zamble Lab

LM443
80 St. George St.

Dr. Deborah B. Zamble


416-978-3568   deborah.zamble@utoronto.ca