HeLa SEM Wilde

Scanning electron micrograph of dividing HeLa cell. Image courtesy of Andrew Wilde.

Cell biology is the study of the structure and function of cells, fundamental units of life that become organized into tissues and organisms. While all cells carry out some common biochemical reactions, cells also become specialized to perform unique reactions and functions. How these different biochemical reactions are integrated during development and in response to different physiological stimuli and how they become disrupted in different diseases is a central focus of the Department.

To dissect fundamental cell biological problems in health and disease, faculty in the Department apply state of the art approaches including functional genomics, proteomics, structural biology, high-resolution imaging and the development of new biosensors.

Through these approaches Departmental faculty address the fundamental cell biological problems of macromolecule synthesis, protein folding and function, transport of proteins, RNA and small molecules within and across membranes, signal transduction, cytoskeletal dynamics and organelle biogenesis and to determine how these pathways operate during development, bacterial infection, the immune response, cancer, diabetes and neurological disorders.

 

Faculty in the Department conducting research in this area:

Angers Lab

Molecular mechanisms underlying intracellular signalling activated by the Wnt and Hedgehog families of secreted growth factors

Angers Lab

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
144 College Street, Room 901
Toronto, ON

Dr. Stephane Angers


416-978-4939   stephane.angers@utoronto.ca

Attisano Lab

Morphogen signalling pathways and the regulation of complex biological responses

Attisano Lab

160 College Street, room 1008

Dr. Liliana Attisano


416-946-3129   liliana.attisano@utoronto.ca

Bazett-Jones Lab

Ultrastructural Signature of Chromatin Domains within the Nuclei

Bazett-Jones Lab

Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay St.

Dr. David P. Bazett-Jones


416-813-2181   dbjones@sickkids.ca

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

DNA Replication, DNA Damage and Genome Instability

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

Donnelly Centre, Room 1206
160 College Street

Dr. Grant W. Brown


416-946-5733   grant.brown@utoronto.ca

Ensminger Group

The Evolution of Microbial Disease

Ensminger Group

MSB Room 4261
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Alexander W. Ensminger


416-978-6522   alex.ensminger@utoronto.ca

Cell biology of lipids, membrane biology and organelle function

St. Michael's Hospital
209 Victoria St.
LKSKI Building, Office 614

Dr. Gregory D. Fairn


416-864-6060, ext 77330   fairng@smh.ca

Forman-Kay lab

Structural Studies of Disordered Proteins

Forman-Kay lab

Molecular Structure and Function
Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9713
686 Bay Street

Dr. Julie D. Forman-Kay


416-813-5358   forman@sickkids.ca

Skeletal muscle regenerative medicine

Gilbert Laboratory

Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
160 College Street, Rm. # 510

Dr. Penney Gilbert


416-978-2501   penney.gilbert@utoronto.ca

Protein Aggregation

Room 5302, Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. John R. Glover


416-200-5985   john.glover@utoronto.ca

Grinstein Lab

Membrane Biology, Ion Transport, and the Innate Immune Response

Grinstein Lab

555 University Ave.

Dr. Sergio Grinstein


416-813-5727   sergio.grinstein@sickkids.ca

Houry Lab

The Function of Molecular Chaperones and ATP-dependent Proteases in Protein Homeostasis

Houry Lab

1 King's College Circle
Medical Sciences Building, Room 5308

Dr. Walid A. Houry


416-946-7141   walid.houry@utoronto.ca

Kahr lab

Structure and Function of Platelets and Their Development from Megakaryocytes

Kahr lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
PGCRL, Rm 19.9714
686 Bay Street

Dr. Walter H.A. Kahr


416-813-7977   walter.kahr@sickkids.ca

Kapus Lab

The cytoskeleton as a cell fate-determining device

Kapus Lab

Keenan Centre for Biomedical Research
209 Victoria Street, Room 621

Dr. Andras Kapus


416-847-1751   KapusA@smh.ca

Kim Lab

Mechanisms of Organelle Maintenance

Kim Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 19.9708

Dr. Peter K. Kim


416-813-5983   pkim@sickkids.ca

Amira Klip Lab

Cellular and biochemical basis of insulin action and insulin resistance: focus on glucose transport

Amira Klip Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street Room 19.9-709

Dr. Amira Klip


416-813-6392   amira@sickkids.ca

Lee Lab

Mechanisms of endothelial permeability

Lee Lab

St. Michael's Hospital
LKS, Room 613

Dr. Warren L. Lee


416-864-6060-77656   leew@smh.ca

Lemaire Lab

Cell Biology Department
Peter Gilgan Centre For Research and Learning
SickKids Research Institute
686 Bay Street, room 19.9704

Dr. Mathieu Lemaire


416-813-7654 ext. 309419   mathieu.lemaire@sickkids.ca

Lingwood Lab

Biological functions of glycosphingolipids

Lingwood Lab

Rm 21-9707
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street

Dr. Clifford A. Lingwood


416 813 5998   cling@sickkids.ca

McQuibban Mitophagy Laboratory

Mitochondrial Quality Control Pathways and Human Neurodegenerative Disease

McQuibban Mitophagy Laboratory

University of Toronto
Faculty of Medicine, Department of Biochemistry
MaRS Centre, West Tower
661 University Ave., Suite 1500, Rm 1536

Dr. G. Angus McQuibban


416-978-6820   angus.mcquibban@utoronto.ca

Mennella Lab

Discovery of supramolecular assemblies responsible for microcephaly and ciliopathies

Mennella Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 18.9709 Toronto, ON

Dr. Vito Mennella


(416)-813-7654 ext. 309267   vito.mennella@sickkids.ca

Palazzo Lab

Nuclear Export and Localization of mRNA

Palazzo Lab

MaRS, West Tower, Suite 1500
661 University Ave.

Dr. Alexander F. Palazzo


416-978-7234   alex.palazzo@utoronto.ca

Rand Lab; Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Lab

Platelet function and dysfunction

Rand Lab; Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Lab

Division of Haematology/Oncology
Hospital for Sick Children
555 University Avenue

Dr. Margaret L. Rand


416-813-7764   margaret.rand@sickkids.ca

Reithmeier Lab

Structure and Function of Membrane Proteins

Reithmeier Lab

Medical Sciences Building, Room 5368

Dr. Reinhart Reithmeier


416-978-7739   r.reithmeier@utoronto.ca

Rotin's lab

Biochemistry and function of the Nedd4 family of ubiquitin ligases

Rotin's lab

PGCRL, 19-9715,
686 Bay Street

Dr. Daniela Rotin


416-813-5098   drotin@sickkids.ca

Sunnybrook Research Institute
2075 Bayview Avenue, Room M7 617

Dr. Robert Screaton


416-480-6100 X 5743   robert.screaton@sri.utoronto.ca

Smibert lab

Control of gene expression in the cytoplasm

Smibert lab

Medical Sciences Building, Rm 5344
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Craig A. Smibert


416-946-5538   c.smibert@utoronto.ca

Trimble Lab

Membrane and Cytoskeleton Interaction

Trimble Lab

SickKids Research Institute
PGCRL Rm 199716
686 Bay Street

Dr. William S. Trimble


416-813-6889   wtrimble@sickkids.ca

Watts Lab

Protein Misfolding and Neurodegenerative Diseases

Watts Lab

Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases
Krembil Discovery Tower
60 Leonard Ave., Rm. 6KD412

Dr. Joel C. Watts


416-507-6891   joel.watts@utoronto.ca

Wilde Lab

Cell Division in Tumor Formation and Oogenesis

Wilde Lab

MSB Room 4377
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Andrew Wilde


416 946 7714   andrew.wilde@utoronto.ca

Protein Folding & Quality Control within the Endoplasmic Reticulum

Medical Sciences Building, Room 5316

Dr. David B. Williams


416-978-2546   david.williams@utoronto.ca

DNA Scissors, DNA Repair and Genome Stability

Wyatt Lab

MaRS Center, West Tower, Room 1521A
661 University Avenue

Dr. Haley Wyatt


416-978-4808   haley.wyatt@utoronto.ca