The antimicrobial peptide indolicidin thins lipid bilayers and induces the formation of hydrated, pore-like defects. The image shows a simulation snapshot in which monomeric, intrinsically disordered indolicidin (yellow) resides in the bilayer's bydrophobic core (white) and interacts with zwitterionic headgroups (brown) in both leaflets, drawing them inward and deforming the bilayer, causing the influx of water (cyan).

Antimicrobial peptide indolicidin induces hydrated, pore-like defects in membranes. Simulation snapshot of indolicidin (yellow) in the bilayer’s hydrophobic core (white), interacting with zwitterionic headgroups (brown) in both leaflets, drawing them inward and causing the influx of water (cyan). Image: Régis Pomès.

Biological membranes are complex and dynamic ensembles of lipids and proteins, which define the limits of cells and organelles and carry out a variety of specialized functions including energy transduction, communication, and cellular homeostasis.

The organization, targeting and assembly of membrane components are active areas of study in the Department. Organisms devote about 1/3 of their genomes to encode membrane proteins and mutations in these genes or alterations in their expression are often linked to disease. How these alterations affect membrane protein structure, function and biosynthesis is a very active area of investigation.

A key function of membranes is transport and a number of members of the Department are studying molecular aspects of membrane transport systems. A wide range of techniques, encompassing structural, molecular and cell biology, is employed in the study of membranes.

 

 

 

 

Faculty in the Department conducting research in this area:

The Bear Lab

Research in Cystic Fibrosis and Kidney Disease

The Bear Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay St.

Dr. Christine E. Bear


416-813-5981   bear@sickkids.ca

Deber lab

Peptide and Protein Structure in Membranes: From Folding to Drug Discovery

Deber lab

Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children
Molecular Structure & Function
PGCRL, Room 20.9712
686 Bay Street

Dr. Charles M. Deber


416-813-5924   deber@sickkids.ca

Ernst Lab

Transmembrane Signaling by GPCRs

Ernst Lab

MSB, Room 5259
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Oliver P. Ernst


416-978-3849   oliver.ernst@utoronto.ca

Cell biology of lipids, membrane biology and organelle function

St. Michael's Hospital
209 Victoria St.
LKSKI Building, Office 614

Dr. Gregory D. Fairn


416-864-6060, ext 77330   fairng@smh.ca

Grinstein Lab

Membrane Biology, Ion Transport, and the Innate Immune Response

Grinstein Lab

555 University Ave.

Dr. Sergio Grinstein


416-813-5727   sergio.grinstein@sickkids.ca

Howell Lab

Microbial Biofilm Formation: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapeutics

Howell Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9715
686 Bay Street

Dr. P. Lynne Howell


416-813-5378   howell@sickkids.ca

Kapus Lab

The cytoskeleton as a cell fate-determining device

Kapus Lab

Keenan Centre for Biomedical Research
209 Victoria Street, Room 621

Dr. Andras Kapus


416-847-1751   KapusA@smh.ca

Kim Lab

Mechanisms of Organelle Maintenance

Kim Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 19.9708

Dr. Peter K. Kim


416-813-5983   pkim@sickkids.ca

Amira Klip Lab

Cellular and biochemical basis of insulin action and insulin resistance: focus on glucose transport

Amira Klip Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street Room 19.9-709

Dr. Amira Klip


416-813-6392   amira@sickkids.ca

Lee Lab

Mechanisms of endothelial permeability

Lee Lab

St. Michael's Hospital
LKS, Room 613

Dr. Warren L. Lee


416-864-6060-77656   warren.lee@utoronto.ca

Lemaire Lab

Cell Biology Department
Peter Gilgan Centre For Research and Learning
SickKids Research Institute
686 Bay Street, room 19.9704

Dr. Mathieu Lemaire


416-813-7654 ext. 309419   mathieu.lemaire@sickkids.ca

Lingwood Lab

Biological functions of glycosphingolipids

Lingwood Lab

Rm 21-9707
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street

Dr. Clifford A. Lingwood


416 813 5998   cling@sickkids.ca

Melnyk Lab

Bacterial Toxin Pathogenesis: Molecular Mechanisms & Drug Discovery

Melnyk Lab

Dr. Roman A. Melnyk


416-813-7654 ext. 328557   roman.melnyk@sickkids.ca

Moraes Lab

Membrane Protein Structural Biology

Moraes Lab

Rm 5366 Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Trevor F. Moraes


416-946-3048   trevor.moraes@utoronto.ca

Pai Lab

The structural determinants of protein function

Pai Lab

MSB, Room 5358
1 KIng's College Circle

Dr. Emil F. Pai


416-581-7545   pai@hera.med.utoronto.ca

Palazzo Lab

Nuclear Export and Localization of mRNA

Palazzo Lab

MaRS, West Tower, Suite 1500
661 University Ave.

Dr. Alexander F. Palazzo


416-978-7234   alex.palazzo@utoronto.ca

Pomès Lab

Computational Studies of Biomolecular Structure and Function

Pomès Lab

PGCRL Room 21.9713
Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay St

Dr. Régis Pomès


416-813-5686   pomes@sickkids.ca

Privé Lab

Protein Structure and Function

Privé Lab

Room 4-302 PMCRT
101 College Street

Dr. Gil Privé


416-581-7541   prive@uhnres.utoronto.ca

Rand Lab; Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Lab

Platelet function and dysfunction

Rand Lab; Hemostasis and Thrombosis Research Lab

Division of Haematology/Oncology
Hospital for Sick Children
555 University Avenue

Dr. Margaret L. Rand


416-813-7764   margaret.rand@sickkids.ca

Reithmeier Lab

Structure and Function of Membrane Proteins

Reithmeier Lab

Medical Sciences Building, Room 5368

Dr. Reinhart Reithmeier


416-978-7739   r.reithmeier@utoronto.ca

Rotin's lab

Biochemistry and function of the Nedd4 family of ubiquitin ligases

Rotin's lab

PGCRL, 19-9715,
686 Bay Street

Dr. Daniela Rotin


416-813-5098   drotin@sickkids.ca

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Electron Cryomicroscopy of Macromolecular Machines

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Rm. 20-9705
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street, Toronto

Dr. John L. Rubinstein


416-813-7255   john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

The Stagljar Lab

Interactome networks of integral membrane proteins and their roles in health & disease

The Stagljar Lab

Donnelly Centre
160 College Street

Dr. Igor Stagljar


1 416 946 7828   igor.stagljar@utoronto.ca

Trimble Lab

Membrane and Cytoskeleton Interaction

Trimble Lab

SickKids Research Institute
PGCRL Rm 199716
686 Bay Street

Dr. William S. Trimble


416-813-6889   wtrimble@sickkids.ca

Wilde Lab

Cell Division in Tumor Formation and Oogenesis

Wilde Lab

MSB Room 4377
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Andrew Wilde


416 946 7714   andrew.wilde@utoronto.ca

Yip Lab

Fundamental Mechanisms of Molecular Self-Assembly

Yip Lab

404 - 160 College St

Dr. Christopher M. Yip


416-978-7853   christopher.yip@utoronto.ca