Simon Sharpe and students monitoring sold state NMR data

Simon Sharpe and graduate students monitoring solid state NMR data

Students with strong computational skills and a working knowledge of the physical concepts relating to spectroscopy and diffraction will find unique research opportunities in this Department.   This includes investigators using x-ray crystallography, NMR, electron microscopy and electron spin resonance spectroscopy to solve and investigate the structures of biological molecules and macromolecular assemblies.

Research labs in the Department currently seeking graduate students with a physics background:

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

DNA Replication, DNA Damage and Genome Instability

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

Donnelly Centre, Room 1206
160 College Street

Dr. Grant W. Brown


416-946-5733   grant.brown@utoronto.ca

Chan Research Group

Theoretical and Computational Investigations of Protein Folding, Interactions, and Evolution

Chan Research Group

MSB 5363
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Hue Sun Chan


416-978-2697   chan@arrhenius.med.utoronto.ca

Ernst Lab

Transmembrane Signaling by GPCRs

Ernst Lab

MSB, Room 5259
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Oliver P. Ernst


416-978-3849   oliver.ernst@utoronto.ca

Kay Laboratory

NMR of Supra-Molecular Machines; Characterizing Low Populated States of Proteins

Kay Laboratory

Medical Sciences Building, Room 1233
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Lewis E. Kay


416-978-0741   kay@pound.med.utoronto.ca

Moraes Lab

Membrane Protein Structural Biology

Moraes Lab

Rm 5366 Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Trevor F. Moraes


416-946-3048   trevor.moraes@utoronto.ca

Pomès Lab

Computational Studies of Biomolecular Structure and Function

Pomès Lab

PGCRL Room 21.9713
Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay St

Dr. Régis Pomès


416-813-5686   pomes@sickkids.ca

Prosser Lab

Using NMR to Investigate Protein Structure and Dynamics

Prosser Lab

University of Toronto, Mississauga
South Building, Room

Dr. R. Scott Prosser


scott.prosser@utoronto.ca

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Electron Cryomicroscopy of Macromolecular Machines

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Rm. 20-9705
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street, Toronto

Dr. John L. Rubinstein


416-813-7255   john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

Sharpe Lab

Molecular-Level Study of Macromolecular Assemblies in Human Health and Disease

Sharpe Lab

Peter Gilgan Center for Research and Learning
686 Bay St., Room 20.9714

Dr. Simon Sharpe


416-813-7852   ssharpe@sickkids.ca

Steipe Lab

Bioinformatics

Steipe Lab

Medical Sciences Building, 5271
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Boris Steipe


(416) 946-7741   boris.steipe@utoronto.ca

Yip Lab

Fundamental Mechanisms of Molecular Self-Assembly

Yip Lab

404 - 160 College St

Dr. Christopher M. Yip


416-978-7853   christopher.yip@utoronto.ca