Max_pipet

Look through the labs listed below for exciting projects with an emphasis on chemistry.

Small molecule perturbation of protein and cell function has emerged as a powerful approach for elucidating biological and biochemical pathways. Through our links with the SPARC high throughput screening facility at the Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning, many of our researchers are working to identify new chemical inhibitors and agonists. In addition to giving new insights into important biological systems this work can provide valuable lead compounds for drug discovery.

Students with an understanding of chemistry and inhibitor action will find unique opportunities to apply their knowledge in this research. Chemistry students will also fund unique opportunities in many of our structural biology groups.

Research labs in the Department currently seeking graduate students with a chemistry background:

Deber lab

Peptide and Protein Structure in Membranes: From Folding to Drug Discovery

Deber lab

Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children
Molecular Structure & Function
PGCRL, Room 20.9712
686 Bay Street

Dr. Charles M. Deber


416-813-5924   deber@sickkids.ca

Ernst Lab

Transmembrane Signaling by GPCRs

Ernst Lab

MSB, Room 5259
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Oliver P. Ernst


416-978-3849   oliver.ernst@utoronto.ca

Forman-Kay lab

Structural Studies of Disordered Proteins

Forman-Kay lab

Molecular Structure and Function
Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9713
686 Bay Street

Dr. Julie D. Forman-Kay


416-813-5358   forman@sickkids.ca

Howell Lab

Microbial Biofilm Formation: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapeutics

Howell Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9715
686 Bay Street

Dr. P. Lynne Howell


416-813-5378   howell@sickkids.ca

Kay Laboratory

NMR of Supra-Molecular Machines; Characterizing Low Populated States of Proteins

Kay Laboratory

Medical Sciences Building, Room 1233
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Lewis E. Kay


416-978-0741   kay@pound.med.utoronto.ca

Lingwood Lab

Biological functions of glycosphingolipids

Lingwood Lab

Rm 21-9707
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street

Dr. Clifford A. Lingwood


416 813 5998   cling@sickkids.ca

Maynes Lab

Models for Cardiac and Neuronal Drug Toxicity and New Methods of Improving Cardiac Function

Maynes Lab

Department of Anesthesia and Pain Medicine
Hospital for Sick Children
555 University Ave

Dr. Jason T. Maynes


416-813-5934   jason.maynes@sickkids.ca

Melnyk Lab

Bacterial Toxin Pathogenesis: Molecular Mechanisms & Drug Discovery

Melnyk Lab

Dr. Roman A. Melnyk


416-813-7654 ext. 328557   roman.melnyk@sickkids.ca

Mennella Lab

Discovery of supramolecular assemblies responsible for microcephaly and ciliopathies

Mennella Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 18.9709 Toronto, ON

Dr. Vito Mennella


(416)-813-7654 ext. 309267   vito.mennella@sickkids.ca

Moraes Lab

Membrane Protein Structural Biology

Moraes Lab

Rm 5366 Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Trevor F. Moraes


416-946-3048   trevor.moraes@utoronto.ca

Nodwell Group

Chemical Communication and Warfare Among Microorganisms

Nodwell Group

Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Justin Nodwell


416 978 6892   chair.biochemistry@utoronto.ca

Pai Lab

The structural determinants of protein function

Pai Lab

MSB, Room 5358
1 KIng's College Circle

Dr. Emil F. Pai


416-581-7545   pai@hera.med.utoronto.ca

Pomès Lab

Computational Studies of Biomolecular Structure and Function

Pomès Lab

PGCRL Room 21.9713
Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay St

Dr. Régis Pomès


416-813-5686   pomes@sickkids.ca

Privé Lab

Protein Structure and Function

Privé Lab

Room 4-302 PMCRT
101 College Street

Dr. Gil Privé


416-581-7541   prive@uhnres.utoronto.ca

Prosser Lab

Using NMR to Investigate Protein Structure and Dynamics

Prosser Lab

University of Toronto, Mississauga
South Building, Room

Dr. R. Scott Prosser


scott.prosser@utoronto.ca

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Electron Cryomicroscopy of Macromolecular Machines

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Rm. 20-9705
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street, Toronto

Dr. John L. Rubinstein


416-813-7255   john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

Sharpe Lab

Molecular-Level Study of Macromolecular Assemblies in Human Health and Disease

Sharpe Lab

Peter Gilgan Center for Research and Learning
686 Bay St., Room 20.9714

Dr. Simon Sharpe


416-813-7852   ssharpe@sickkids.ca

DNA Scissors, DNA Repair and Genome Stability

Wyatt Lab

MaRS Center, West Tower, Room 1521A
661 University Avenue

Dr. Haley Wyatt


416-978-4808   haley.wyatt@utoronto.ca

Yip Lab

Fundamental Mechanisms of Molecular Self-Assembly

Yip Lab

404 - 160 College St

Dr. Christopher M. Yip


416-978-7853   christopher.yip@utoronto.ca

Zamble Lab

Metallobiochemistry

Zamble Lab

LM443
80 St. George St.

Dr. Deborah B. Zamble


416-978-3568   deborah.zamble@utoronto.ca