Print

Super-resolution microscopy of a centrosome labeled with antibodies recognizing pericentrin. Note the increase in resolution obtained with Structured Illumination Microscopy (SIM ~125 nm) and Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM ~25 nm) compared to regular widefield/deconvolution microscopy. Image: Vito Mennella

In addition to our strong focuses on biochemical and structural biological research,  many of our investigators are pursuing questions of gene expression, developmental biology, neural function and other basic biological pathways and processes.

We have a large cohort of cell biologists as well as outstanding infrastructure for light and electron microscopy.

Research labs in the Department currently seeking graduate students with a biology background:

Angers Lab

Molecular mechanisms underlying intracellular signalling activated by the Wnt and Hedgehog families of secreted growth factors

Angers Lab

Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
144 College Street, Room 901
Toronto, ON

Dr. Stephane Angers


416-978-4939   stephane.angers@utoronto.ca

Attisano Lab

Morphogen signalling pathways and the regulation of complex biological responses

Attisano Lab

160 College Street, room 1008

Dr. Liliana Attisano


416-946-3129   liliana.attisano@utoronto.ca

The Bear Lab

Research in Cystic Fibrosis and Kidney Disease

The Bear Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay St.

Dr. Christine E. Bear


416-813-5981   bear@sickkids.ca

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

DNA Replication, DNA Damage and Genome Instability

Grant W. Brown Laboratory

Donnelly Centre, Room 1206
160 College Street

Dr. Grant W. Brown


416-946-5733   grant.brown@utoronto.ca

Davidson Lab

Bacteriophages

Davidson Lab

1 King's College Circle, Room 4285

Dr. Alan R. Davidson


416-978-0332   alan.davidson@utoronto.ca

Ensminger Group

The Evolution of Microbial Disease

Ensminger Group

MSB Room 4261
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Alexander W. Ensminger


416-978-6522   alex.ensminger@utoronto.ca

Cell biology of lipids, membrane biology and organelle function

St. Michael's Hospital
209 Victoria St.
LKSKI Building, Office 614

Dr. Gregory D. Fairn


416-864-6060, ext 77330   fairng@smh.ca

Skeletal muscle regenerative medicine

Gilbert Laboratory

Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
160 College Street, Rm. # 510

Dr. Penney Gilbert


416-978-2501   penney.gilbert@utoronto.ca

Grinstein Lab

Membrane Biology, Ion Transport, and the Innate Immune Response

Grinstein Lab

555 University Ave.

Dr. Sergio Grinstein


416-813-5727   sergio.grinstein@sickkids.ca

Howell Lab

Microbial Biofilm Formation: From Molecular Mechanisms to Therapeutics

Howell Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL)
Room 20-9715
686 Bay Street

Dr. P. Lynne Howell


416-813-5378   howell@sickkids.ca

Julien laboratory

Targeting B cell receptors in vaccine and disease

Julien laboratory

Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning (PGCRL), Room 20-9703
686 Bay St.

Dr. Jean-Philippe Julien


416-813-7654, ext. 309424   jean-philippe.julien@sickkids.ca

Sequence/Structure/Function Relationships Determining the Elastomeric Properties of Elastin

Research Institute, The Hospital for Sick Children
PGCRL
686 Bay Street

Dr. Fred W. Keeley


416-813-6704   fwk@sickkids.ca

Amira Klip Lab

Cellular and biochemical basis of insulin action and insulin resistance: focus on glucose transport

Amira Klip Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street Room 19.9-709

Dr. Amira Klip


416-813-6392   amira@sickkids.ca

Lemaire Lab

Cell Biology Department
Peter Gilgan Centre For Research and Learning
SickKids Research Institute
686 Bay Street, room 19.9704

Dr. Mathieu Lemaire


416-813-7654 ext. 309419   mathieu.lemaire@sickkids.ca

Lingwood Lab

Biological functions of glycosphingolipids

Lingwood Lab

Rm 21-9707
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street

Dr. Clifford A. Lingwood


416 813 5998   cling@sickkids.ca

Maxwell Lab

Bacteriophages and Human Health

Maxwell Lab

Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
160 College Street, Rm. 508

Dr. Karen L. Maxwell


416-978-0872   karen.maxwell@utoronto.ca

Melnyk Lab

Bacterial Toxin Pathogenesis: Molecular Mechanisms & Drug Discovery

Melnyk Lab

Dr. Roman A. Melnyk


416-813-7654 ext. 328557   roman.melnyk@sickkids.ca

Mennella Lab

Architecture and Dynamics of Protein Complexes in the Context of Cellular Organelles

Mennella Lab

The Hospital for Sick Children
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street, Rm. 18.9709 Toronto, ON

Dr. Vito Mennella


(416)-813-7654 ext. 309267   vito.mennella@sickkids.ca

Moraes Lab

Membrane Protein Structural Biology

Moraes Lab

Rm 5366 Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Trevor F. Moraes


416-946-3048   trevor.moraes@utoronto.ca

Molecular Evolution, Undergraduate Education

Room 5253
Medical Sciences Building

Dr. Laurence (Larry) A. Moran


416-978-2704   l.moran@utoronto.ca

Nodwell Group

Chemical Communication and Warfare Among Microorganisms

Nodwell Group

Medical Sciences Building
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Justin Nodwell


416 978 6892   chair.biochemistry@utoronto.ca

Ohh Lab

Molecular Mechanisms of Cancer

Ohh Lab

MaRS Centre, West Tower
661 University Avenue, Suite 1512

Dr. Michael Ohh


416-946-7922   michael.ohh@utoronto.ca

Palazzo Lab

Nuclear Export and Localization of mRNA

Palazzo Lab

MaRS, West Tower, Suite 1500
661 University Ave.

Dr. Alexander F. Palazzo


416-978-7234   alex.palazzo@utoronto.ca

Parkinson Lab

Parasites and Microbes in Health and Disease

Parkinson Lab

Peter Gilgan Center for Research and Learning
20th Floor, RM 20.9709
686 Bay Street

Dr. John Parkinson


416-813-5746   jparkin@sickkids.ca

Rotin's lab

Biochemistry and function of the Nedd4 family of ubiquitin ligases

Rotin's lab

PGCRL, 19-9715,
686 Bay Street

Dr. Daniela Rotin


416-813-5098   drotin@sickkids.ca

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Electron Cryomicroscopy of Macromolecular Machines

The Rubinstein Laboratory

Rm. 20-9705
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
The Hospital for Sick Children
686 Bay Street, Toronto

Dr. John L. Rubinstein


416-813-7255   john.rubinstein@utoronto.ca

Sunnybrook Research Institute
2075 Bayview Avenue, Room M7 617

Dr. Robert Screaton


416-480-6100 X 5743   robert.screaton@sri.utoronto.ca

Smibert lab

Control of gene expression in the cytoplasm

Smibert lab

Medical Sciences Building, Rm 5344
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Craig A. Smibert


416-946-5538   c.smibert@utoronto.ca

Trimble Lab

Membrane and Cytoskeleton Interaction

Trimble Lab

SickKids Research Institute
PGCRL Rm 199716
686 Bay Street

Dr. William S. Trimble


416-813-6889   wtrimble@sickkids.ca

Wilde Lab

Cell Division in Tumor Formation and Oogenesis

Wilde Lab

MSB Room 4377
1 King's College Circle

Dr. Andrew Wilde


416 946 7714   andrew.wilde@utoronto.ca

DNA Scissors, DNA Repair and Genome Stability

Wyatt Lab

MaRS Centre, West Tower
661 University Avenue

Dr. Haley Wyatt


hwyatt02@gmail.com

Yip Lab

Fundamental Mechanisms of Molecular Self-Assembly

Yip Lab

404 - 160 College St

Dr. Christopher M. Yip


416-978-7853   christopher.yip@utoronto.ca