• Julie D. Forman-Kay

Professor Julie Forman-Kay elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society

11 May 2021|0 Comments


The Biochemistry Department is pleased to report that Professor Julie Forman-Kay has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society in recognition of her internationally renowned studies of the dynamic structures, interactions and functions of intrinsically disordered proteins. Congratulations!

  • SickKids Awards

SickKids-led researchers receive numerous grants from the Canada Foundation for Innovation

27 March 2021|0 Comments

Professors Julie Forman-Kay, Simon Sharpe, P. Lynne Howell and John Rubinstein were awarded new CFI funds to help bring new technology to SickKids.

Professors Julie Forman-Kay, and Simon Sharpe, received more than $1.6 million to build on the SickKids Structural and Biophysical Core (SBC) facility. These new funds will support critical enhancements to cutting-edge research, knowledge creation, […]

  • Liliana Attisano

Latest Platform Support Grant to the Attisano Lab to make advanced brain models

27 March 2021|0 Comments

Together with the Krembil Foundation, Brain Canada awarded a Platform Support Grant (PSG) to a team spearheaded by Professor Liliana Attisano. She will be receiving $1,425,000 to support the Applied Organoid Core (ApOC), an organoid production platform for modelling human brain development and disorders.

  • Oliver P. Ernst

Oliver P. Ernst Wins the 2020 Konrad Adenauer Research Award

8 December 2020|0 Comments

Our congratulations goes out to Professor Oliver Ernst, the recipient of the 2020 Konrad Adenauer Research Award.

The Humboldt Foundation’s Konrad Adenauer Research Award honours researchers from Canada whose fundamental discoveries and findings have helped shape their discipline beyond their immediate research area and whose personality and research have contributed to strengthening academic and cultural relations […]

  • Karen Maxwell

Professor Karen Maxwell wins the John C. Polanyi Award

10 November 2020|0 Comments

Congratulations to Professor Karen Maxwell who was awarded the 2020 NSERC John C. Polanyi Award.  She received this award for her pioneering work investigating how bacteria like Streptomyces fight of phages by producing small molecules. This breakthrough not only reveals new biology about bacterial-phage interactions, but it also opens up a new way to screen for […]